J4JA Supporters Once Again Fill the List of Jazz Journalists Association Awards Winners

The Jazz Journalists Association has just announced winners in 32 JJA Jazz Awards categories for 2015. Every year the organization awards those musicians who have shown excellence in their respective fields, extreme precision on their instrument or broken new ground with acclaimed albums. And this year, as in most, our musician supporters are heavily represented in the field of winners.

We are always quite proud of the heavyweights that are attracted to our cause, which goes to show that the best in the field of jazz recognize that in order for the art to grow and thrive we must treat its purveyors with respect and dignity.

Our supporters won across a broad range of categories, from being the best instrumentalists in their respective fields to putting out the year’s best records. Perhaps most importantly, the venerable Randy Weston–not the first time he’s graced the list by a long shot–won the award for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz! Congratulations Mr. Weston.

Additional winners include Jason Moran, who was named Musician of the Year, Christian McBride, Regina Carter and Kenny Barron. Notably, Mr. Barron took home three awards: Record of the Year and Trio or Duo of the Year (accompanied by Dave Holland on both counts), and Pianist of the Year.

Congratulations to all the winners and thanks for all that you do.

See the full list of 2014 JJA Award winners here.